post national team tryout - athlete application


OVERVIEW

The Premier League was established in 2017 in Toronto to launch professional volleyball in Canada and provide elite competition to our best post-secondary athletes.

The league is made up of current and former:

  • Professional athletes
  • National team members 
  • Top NCAA, USport and CCAA players

The Calgary Premier League was launched in 2018 and will mirror it's Toronto counter-part with four men's and four women's teams competing over the course of 2 months culminated by the Premier Cup Finals. 

Athletes wishing to compete in the Premier League must apply to be in the Athlete Draft, where they have the opportunity to be selected to a team. 

There is a $25 registration fee for the 2018 Premier League. Once you complete your draft application (below) you will be prompted to make this payment. If you are drafted, a deposit of $250 is required to play in the League and payable to your Club. Athletes will be refunded within two weeks of the last day of official competition pending fulfillment of their Athlete Contract. 

See Athlete Draft for more information. 

 

schedule : toronto

Tuesday, May 15 - Athlete Draft (BP Downtown)
Thursday, May 31 - Round 1 - Mattamy
Thursday, June 7 - Round 2 - Kerr Hall
Thursday, June 14 - Round 3 - Kerr Hall
Thursday, June 28 - Round 4 - Mattamy
Thursday, July 5 - Round 5 - Mattamy
Thursday, July 12 - Round 6 - Mattamy
Thursday, July 19 - Playoffs - Mattamy
Saturday, July 21 - Premier Cup Finals

schedule : calgary

Wednesday, May 16 - Athlete Draft (TBD)
Monday, June 4 - Round 1 - SAIT
Monday, June 11 - Round 2 - SAIT
Monday, June 25 - Round 3 - SAIT
Tuesday, July 3 - Round 4 - SAIT
Tuesday, July 10 - Round 5 - SAIT
Tuesday, July 17 - Round 6 - SAIT
Tuesday, July 24 - Playoffs - SAIT
Saturday, July 28 - Premier Cup Finals - SAIT

*schedule subject to change at any time due to change in facility availability

All athletes who have applied will be notified by Midnight following the closed athlete draft selection if they have been drafted to a team (May 14th - Toronto OR May 15th - Calgary). All drafted athletes are required to be at the live Draft Announcement (May 15th - Toronto OR May 16th - Calgary).


2017 TORONTO Athlete Draft


Closed Draft

About: The closed draft is the in-camera session between the League and club representatives where athletes are selected to Premier League teams. 

Location: Disclosed to team representatives only

Format: The Draft Order has already been determined. Teams will be selected in a snaked draft and will have one (1) minute to make their selection in each round of picks. Once the teams are selected, all athletes who applied to the draft will be notified in writing whether or whether not they have been selected to a team.